Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Exmouth RFC app


Wathes, Harris and Dalton receive key Awards at Senior Awards Night

1 year ago By Jon Hill

Exmouth RFC hosted the Annual Club Awards Night on Saturday with Mark Wathes, James Harris and Isaac Dalton among those picking up awards.

James Harris, who has recently been named Captain of Devon in the County Championship, received the 1st xv Player of the Year Award from the coaching and management team for his huge efforts in what has been a testing season on the pitch. Harris is an absolute breakdown and defensive specialist whose tackle count has been the highest in the team in every game this last season, and whose breakdown turnover rate, higher than any other player. A fitting award winner, to a man who does all the hard graft, but rarely gets the plaudits or recognition.

Popular prop Isaac Dalton received the much coveted 1st xv Player’s Player Award from his team mates. Isaac has been an almost ever present in the team, who, along with James Harris has played the most amount of minutes in the squad this last season. Even in the recent rolling replacements/interchanges Law change, where you often see props replaced on rotation, Isaac has been the mainstay of the scrum, and has been the very first to fall on a loose ball on almost every occasion! His diving skills have also been seen in the dead ball area where he contributed an impressive six tries throughout the season.

Mark Wathes won the Members Player of the Season for his superb performances throughout the season. Wathes continues to defy his misleading appearance, and has caused havoc at times with his silky running skills and defensive discipline. He is younger, fitter and quicker than he looks and is an absolute credit to Exmouth RFC. A great club man on and off the pitch with valuable and impressive leadership qualities.

Wathes was also a joint winner of the 1st xv top try scorer award, with his try on the last day of the regular season drawing him level with another product of our junior system that is Charlie Gibbings , also known as ‘Buffalo’. Charlie managed 8 tries in the season, which considering our league position, and his playing position is a superb achievement. Charlie and Isaac scored 14 tries between them in the front row … a very good return from the masters of the dark arts.

Popular signing Mike Richards won the Best Newcomer Award following his debut National League Season. His performances in the back five of the pack have seen him become one of the first names on the team sheet each week and he has been involved in every 1st xv match day squad he was available for. A great success story for those wanting to make the step up from the lower leagues.

Another new signing Tom Steer had a successful evening by picking up two awards in the shape of 2nd xv Players Player Award and 2nd xv Managers Award for a great debut season with the Cockles. Tom, another player to make the step up, has really worked hard at his game this last year and has made a significant contribution to the club both on and off the field. His performances earnt him three bench spots in the 1st xv towards the end of the season which were richly deserved and he is sure to push on again next season.

Club Stalwart Roger Holman received the Nigel Harris Memorial Trophy for Services to ERFC for his continued commitment and dedication to all things Exmouth Rugby. There is not enough space on this press release to list the jobs that Roger does each day and each week to ensure that there is rugby played at Exmouth. He is a true club legend , and looks set to come out of Touch Judge retirement next season at the ripe old age of … ‘unknown’. Thanks for all you do Roger, without you , there is no way this club would be where it is right now.

A list of other award winners can be seen below, in what was an exceptional evening, hosted by the enigmatic Director of Rugby Chris Wright, and awards presented by Club Secretary Jan McCarthy and Club President David Bassett. Many thanks to all of those involved in the setting up and running of an enjoyable evening to celebrate all things ERFC.

EXMOUTH RFC 2016/2017 Senior Award Winners:

Top Try Scorer Ethan Langson-Justice
Most Improved Colt Brett Milson
Colt of the Year Dan Armstrong and Joel Ranft
Players Player Sam Fulthorpe
Clubman of the Year Joseph Schunck

3rd Xv
Top Try Scorer Ross Matthews
Players Player Sam Millardship
Managers Award Richie Guy

2nd xv
Top Try Scorer James Vidler
Players Player Tom Steer
2nd xv Managers Award Tom Steer

1st xv
Top Try Scorer Charlie Gibbings and Mark Wathes
Players Player Isaac Dalton
Managers Award Jack Fahy
Player of the Year James Harris
Members Player of Year Mark Wathes

Club Awards
Best Newcomer Mike Richards
Most Improved Player Harvey Ridgeway
Club Captain’s Award The Medical Team
Services to ERFC Roger Holman
Clubman of the Year The Commercial Team

Well Done to all the Award Winners

Exmouth RFC


Sponsored by Soft Works

Updated 12:01 - 19 May 2017 by Exmouth RFC Webmaster

Where next?

International tickets available to members Tickets available for Autumn Internationals and Six Nations
Ben Tenbeth-Crosskerry Ben sadly passed away this week


Loading comments

Scrumwhere only we know - Watch the rugby in Japan for less

Sat 22 Sep
League 14:30
2nd XV Okehampton II
League 14:30
Nomads XV Honiton II
League 15:00
Sat 29 Sep
Nomads XV Sidmouth II
League TBC
1st XV Ivybridge
League 14:30
League 14:30


Club sponsors